Heritage BC Awards Program

Heritage BC's mission is to provide leadership for sustainable conservation of British Columbia's unique cultural heritage. Towards this goal, the Annual Awards Program recognizes the outstanding and significant achievements in heritage conservation of individuals, organizations, groups, businesses and government in communities across B.C.

Nominations for the 2017 Awards are now closed. Thanks to everyone who nominated!

Award Categories

Heritage BC presents in four categories: Heritage Conservation; Heritage Education and Awareness; Heritage Planning and Management; Distinguished Service Award. 

Heritage Conservation

  • For the preservation, restoration, rehabilitation, or adaptive reuse of historic places
  • Recognizes high standards of heritage conservation based on the national Standards and Guidelines for the Conservation of Historic Places in Canada
  • Emphasizes innovation and commitment to heritage conservation that also contributes to environmental, economic, social and/or cultural sustainability. Examples of connecting heritage and sustainability include: climate change adaptation; climate change mitigation; environmental resource management; downtown/main street revitalization; affordable or special needs housing; community or arts and culture spaces.

Heritage Education and Awareness

  • For increasing awareness and support for historic places and conservation in a community
  • Recognizes achievement in heritage education or interpretation through social media, publications, displays, exhibits, or other products or activities to promote heritage conservation
  • Emphasizes community engagement or public involvement

Heritage Planning and Management

  • For community heritage planning and cultural and heritage resource management
  • Recognizes planning initiatives which support the long-term conservation of heritage resources through conservation plans, community plans, zoning, or financial incentives

Distinguished Service Award

  • For exemplary volunteer commitment by an individual to heritage conservation, through leadership in public awareness, heritage education or interpretation, or heritage advocacy over a considerable period of time.

Levels of Recognition 

There are three levels of recognition for the Heritage Conservation, Heritage Education and Awareness, and Heritage Planning and Management awards categories.

• Outstanding Achievement: for excellence
• Honour: for high achievements
• Recognition: for noteworthy achievements


Projects nominated for an award must have been completed within the past three calendar years.

Individuals, groups, organizations, businesses, government agencies and other entities will be considered for a Heritage BC award, based on evaluation and selection criteria for each of the categories. Please contact Heritage BC for more information on these criteria, and how to prepare the award nomination.

The Awards & Presentation Ceremony

Heritage BC award winners receive a special framed certificate. All awards are presented at the Awards Ceremony and Gala, which takes place during National and Provincial Heritage Week February 13-17, 2017.

Submitting a Nomination

Nominations can be submitted online on Heritage BC's website. Nominations are now open until end of day on Friday, November 4th, 2016. No more than two nominations may be made by the same nominator in a given year. Incomplete nominations will not be considered by the jury.

All decisions of the Awards Committee are final. Submissions may not be re-nominated in subsequent years in the same award category. Separate phases of large projects may be nominated, as long as they are clearly different from previously completed work.

Following review by the awards jury, nominators and successful nominees will be notified by email or telephone.

Please read our nomination procedures carefully before using the online form to submit a nomination.

» Nomination Procedure

» Nomination Form

» Awards Nominations Media Release